Our verdict
Pick the standard Microchip Cat Flap if all your cats can come and go. Pick DualScan if some cats must stay indoors; it scans on exit and applies per-cat permissions for up to 32 pets.
The central trade-off
Exit control. DualScan sets exit permissions per cat; the standard flap scans on entry only.
Opening. Both are 4 3/4 in high by 5 5/8 in wide.
Batteries. Both use 4 AA batteries for up to a year.
Side by side
| Specification | SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap | SureFlap DualScan Microchip Cat Flap |
|---|---|---|
| Dimensions | 8.94 x 8.74 x 4.92 inches; 1 pounds | 8.27 x 8.27 x 5.83 inches; 2.2 pounds |
| Power | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
| Weight | 16 ounces | 2.2 pounds |
| Material | Plastic | Not stated by the maker |
Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

